CiE 2021 in Ghent, Belgium (virtual), July 5-9, 2021

========================= FIRST CALL FOR PAPERS: =========================
CiE 2021: Connecting with computability 5 – 9 July 2021 website:
**Due to the current pandemic CiE 2021 will be held as a virtual conference.**
CiE 2021 is the seventeenth conference organized by the Association Computability in Europe. The /Computability in Europe/ conference (CiE) series has built up a strong tradition for developing a scientific program which is interdisciplinary at its core bringing together all aspects of computability and foundations of computer science, as well as the interplay of these theoretical areas with practical issues in CS and other disciplines such as biology, mathematics, history, philosophy, and physics. For more information about the CiE conferences and the Association CiE, please have a look at: [2]. CiE 2021 will be the second CiE conference that is organized as a virtual event and aims at a high-quality meeting that allows and invites active participation from all participants. It will be hosted virtually by Ghent University.
Previous meetings have taken place in Amsterdam (2005), Swansea (2006), Siena (2007), Athens (2008), Heidelberg (2009), Ponta Delgada (2010), Sofia (2011), Cambridge (2012), Milan (2013), Budapest (2014), Bucharest (2015), Paris (2016), Turku (2017), Kiel (2018), Durham (2019) and virtually in Salerno (2020)
========================= Laura Crosilla (University of Oslo, Norway) Markus Lohrey (Universität Siegen. Germany) Russell Miller (tutorial speaker, CUNY, US) Joan Rand Moschovakis (UCLA, US) Joël Ouaknine (Max Planck Institute for software systems, Germany) Christine Tasson (tutorial speaker, Université Paris Diderot, France) Keita Yokoyama (Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Japan) Henry Yuen (University of Toronto, Canada)
SPECIAL SESSIONS =========================
_/Classical Computability theory: Open problems and solutions/_ Noam Greenberg (Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand) and Steffen Lempp (University of Wisconsin)
_/Proof theory and computation/_ David Fernández Duque (Ghent University, Belgium) and Juan Pablo Aguilera (Ghent University, Belgium)
_/Quantum computation and information/_ Harry Buhrman (Universiteit van Amsterdam, Netherlands) and Frank Verstraete (Ghent University, Belgium)
/Church’s thesis in constructive mathematics (HaPoC session)/ Marianna Antonutti-Marfori (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Germany) and Alberto Naibo (Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne)
_/Computational geometry/_ Maike Buchin (Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany) and Maarten Löffler (Utrecht University, Netherlands)
/Computational Pangenomics/ Nadia Pisanti (University of Pisa, Italy) and Solon Pissis (University of Amsterdam, Netherlands)
WOMEN IN COMPUTABILITY =========================
The Computability in Europe conference series has a long tradition in setting up a Women in Computability program. For CiE 2021 we plan a Women in Computability workshop combined with an online mentoring program. For more details on the Special Interest Group Women in Computability, see:
IMPORTANT DATES: =========================
Deadline for article registration (abstract submission): January 17, 2021 Deadline for article submission: February 5, 2021 Notification of acceptance: April 13, 2021 Final versions due: April 27, 2021 Deadline for informal presentations submission: May 1, 2021
The notifications of acceptance for informal presentations will be sent a few days after submission.
ORGANIZED BY: ========================= Department of Mathematics WE16, Ghent University
Organizing Committee: Juan Pablo Aguilera (Ghent University) David Bélanger (Ghent University) Liesbeth De Mol (CNRS, Université de Lille) David Fernández-Duque (chair, Ghent University) Fedor Pakhomov (Ghent University) Frederik Van De Putte (Ghent University) Andreas Weiermann (Ghent University)
CONTRIBUTED PAPERS: =========================
The Programme Committee cordially invites all researchers (European and non-European) to submit their papers in computability related areas for presentation at the conference and inclusion in the proceedings. Papers building bridges between different parts of the research community are particularly welcome.
Papers should be in English and anonymized. They must be submitted in PDF format, using the LNCS style (available at [4]) and should have a maximum of 10 pages, including references but excluding a possible appendix in which one can include proofs and other additional material.
Authors should submit their papers electronically using EasyChair:
Abstracts should be submitted by January 17th 2021, followed by the full papers to be submitted by February 5 2021. Each submitted paper will be peer-reviewed by a panel of PC members based on originality, significance, technical soundness, clarity of exposition, and relevance for the conference. For each accepted paper, at least one author is required to register for the conference and should plan to present the paper.
The CONFERENCE PROCEEDINGS will be published with LNCS, Springer Verlag.
INFORMAL PRESENTATIONS: =========================
Continuing the tradition of past CiE conferences, in addition to the formal presentations based on the LNCS proceedings volume, CiE 2021 will host a track of informal presentations, that are prepared very shortly before the conference and inform the participants about current research and work in progress. The deadline for the submission of abstracts for informal presentations is May 1st, 2021.
PROGRAMME COMMITTEE =========================
Marianna Antonutti Marfori (Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich) Nathalie Aubrun (CNRS, Université Paris-Saclay) Christel Baier (TU Dresden) Nikolay Bazhenov (Sobolev Institute of Mathematics) Marie-Pierre Béal (Université Paris-Est) Arnold Beckmann (Swansea University) David Bélanger (Ghent University) Joel Day (Loughborough University) Liesbeth De Mol (CNRS, Université de Lille, PC co-chair) Carola Doerr (Sorbonne University, CNRS) Jérôme Durand-Lose (Université d’Orléans) David Fernández-Duque (Ghent University) Zuzana Haniková (Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic) Mathieu Hoyrup (LORIA) Assia Mahboubi (INRIA) Florin Manea (University of Göttingen) Irène Marcovici (Université de Lorraine) Klaus Meer (BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg) Ludovic Patey (Institut Camille Jordan) Cinzia Pizzi (University of Padova) Giuseppe Primiero (University of Milan) Simona Ronchi Della Rocca (Università di Torino) Paul Schafer (University of Leeds) Svetlana Selivanova (KAIST) Monika Seisenberger (Swansea University) Alexander Shen (CNRS & Univ. Montpellier 2) Alexandra Soskova (Sofia University) Mariya Soskova (University of Wisconsin-Madison) Frank Stephan (National University of Singapore) Peter Van Emde Boas (Universiteit van Amsterdam) Sergey Verlan (Université Paris Est – Créteil Val de Marne) Andreas Weiermann (Ghent University, PC co-chair) Damien Woods (Maynooth University)

Leave a Reply